The Red Antiquities Building is an important historical land mark in London. The history of this building is truly unique and one that should be told.
- It is the oldest wide-board wooden building remaining in South-Western Ontario.
- It was constructed between 1872 and 1873 by the Winder Family, in particular Henry Winder
- The work and live-in residence style of the building is typical of the era in which it was built. However, the layout of this building is quite unique.
- The building housed the Winder grocery store until 1895
- It was the first home of the Rowland Hill shoe store from May 1900 to March 1901. Mr Hill rented the 16’ X 16’ store from Henry Winder who continued to live in the rest of the house with his daughter Maggie.
- In 1913, the Johnston & Moffatt grocery store opened.
- The building then became the Bargain shop in 1955 and remained as such until the mid 1960’s.
- In 1967, the store became Mrs. Blythe’s Antiques Flea Market
- It has remained The Antiquities Shoppe for the last 30 years.
- The residential portion of the house was home for the Winder family for 95 years (until 1967)
- The building remained in the Winder Family until 2010 when it was purchased by Pathways Skill Development in partnership with Heritage London Foundation.
The Red Antiquities Building has evidently been a focal point in the SoHo community for over 138 years. The restoration of this building will allow for this building to keep serving the community as it has in the past.